chef tamara

August 3, 2009

Roasted Chickpeas

Filed under: cooking,snacks — chef tamara @ 3:45 AM
Tags: , , ,

I love Chickpeas. Yes I do! I like them fried best! The first time I recall eating fried chickpeas was when our friend Chef Alex Raij of Txikito made them for us. Deep fried I believe, then tossed with what I guess was salt, smoky paprika and a dash of heaven? (Never denied I wasn’t corny). Alex’s Chickpeas were perfectly GBD: golden, brown, and delicious!

IMG_0727

At home I don’t fry them. I do them the second best possible way to eat Chickpeas: roasted in the oven. Or is the second best way to eat Chickpeas in Hummus Form? Hmmm… Okay. Tied for second best way to eat Chickpeas: oven roasted!

IMG_0728

The easiest way to do them is just a little (or a lot) of olive oil, salt, and FRESHLY ground pepper. Toss it all together and roast. Usually I do it anywhere from 450F-500F in a convection oven, stirring a few times through the cooking process. For how long? Until it’s done! (Don’t you hate when people say that?) I bake them until they’ve shrunk a bit, start looking golden brown, and are nice and crispy. This requires tasting every now and then. Torture, I know.

IMG_0737

Some times, in addition to salt and FRESHLY ground pepper (notice a message here about Pepper?), I will add garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, chili powder, and sweet and smoky Paprikas (both types). I looooove the smoky Paprika. It almost makes me feel like I’m in Spain. Almost I said. Then I toss it all with olive oil and again into a high heat oven.

IMG_0741

Once they look like they’ve shrunk and are golden brown and pretty darn crisp, they’re done. I eat them as a snack 99.99% of the times. But they also rock as garnish for soups or salads. You will notice that some do not get all the way crisp. Either leave them in oven longer or just enjoy the different levels of crispiness.

IMG_0743

Can you see they’re GOLDEN?

IMG_0746

BROWN?

IMG_0751

And DELICIOUS?

IMG_0756

They were!!!

1 Comment »

  1. I will be making those today!!!!!!!

    Comment by Jenedee — August 4, 2009 @ 12:04 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

